Think Twice, Cut Once

Hello y’all! I don’t want to foolishly head down a road of poor-thoughtoutness. I’ve done that. It can teach you a lot, and failure is important, but I’d much rather know were I’m headed and why I’m doing what I’m doing this time. This is what it looked like last time.

With that in mind, I’m sharing what I’m working on and requesting feedback before I keep on keeping on.

Project: Make a database/interface for my comic book collection akin to

Each comic will be encoded in RDF/XML using the Comic Book Ontology (CBO) and supplemented with other metadata schemes when that won’t satisfy. Check out more on CBO, via the creator’s thesis.

So here’s my big question (and I openly submit that as a total linked data newbie, it’s an ignorant one…)

I can put data into RDF, I can then transform it into HTML for web viewing, but then it’s not in linked triples anymore. My fundamental question is, how do you do both? Does it fulfill linked data requirements if I just have a human readable interface of HTML/CSS with RDFa attributes inside those HTML elements?

I’m genuinely asking here — This is a project intended to better help me understand how to create linked data, and then use it on the actual web. Does what I’ve laid out sound like a correct way of doing that?

Thanks!

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Think Twice, Cut Once

  1. There are a few patterns/options for presenting linked data alongside html representations. I think there is no ‘right’ answer, but it depends on what you are trying to achieve. You could:

    * Integrate linked data into the HTML using RDFa/microdata
    * Publish linked data as JSON-LD and reference this from the HTML

    These two approaches are used extensively when publishing schema.org data and if your primary target for the published linked data is search engines, then you probably want to map your representation to a schema.org representation and publish using one of these methods.

    Alternatively you could offer access to RDF triples (in various serialisations) by:

    * Using content negotiation
    * Using alternative URIs and ‘link rel’

    Content negotiation allows a web server to give different responses for the same URI, depending on what MIME type is asked for the in the http request. So the user can request RDF/XML or NT instead of HTML when they ask for the URI content, and you can provide the correct format.

    Alternatively you can offer the different serialisations in RDF at different URIs. E.g.:

    http://example.org/example.html
    http://example.org/example.xml
    http://example.org/example.nt

    etc.

    In the HTML representation you can use the ‘link rel’ attribute to point to the various representations you are able to deliver.

    Any of these will work, and some are complimentary, so it is a question of what your consumers will prefer.

    I’d recommend http://linkeddatabook.com/editions/1.0 if you haven’t already looked at this as offering a good summary of various approaches.

    Like

Leave a Reply

