A Nota Bene, an Explanation, or a Disclaimer

My work on this blog, such as it is, is not intended to be of High Academic Level, and it sure as shit isn’t intended to be published. What I’m primarily doing here is challenging myself to work through the thoughts that fly through my head in my day-to-day cataloging life, “oh hey I should expound on that, so that I better understand my own thoughts on it”. I guess what I mean to clarify is that I don’t imagine myself as saying all new things and forging into new territory with every post. I have a long bibliography of radical cataloging books/articles to read. Many of these, I imagine, and some of them, I know, are filled with exactly the same ideas that I’m working through. So why re-invent the wheel?

Why indeed? Why not throw away the whole wheel and start from scratch? Begin again, re-examining why, who, what, and how we catalog. There are people doing that, incredibly talented and smart people. I’m more of a back-of-the-room kind of guy. I want to critically examine the systems I know and the systems I use, but I have no visions to replace that system, or even to do away with systems altogether.

So that’s what I’m doing here, I’m not a leader (and DEFINITELY not an emerging leader), I’m going to learn, I’m going to make mistakes, and I’m going to try do better, both for myself, and those who are not me.

Leave a Reply

